Dzirnavu Street 16, 3rd floor, Riga

Post address:
Vaļņu Street 2, Riga LV-1050

Visiting hours:
Mondays 14:00 - 18:00
Tuesdays 9:00 - 13:00
Thursdays 13:00 - 17:00

Phone:   (+371) 67225155
  E-mail: aic []

Grading system

The Education Law (1998) stipulates that basic assessment principles and procedures for obtained education are regulated by the state education standards. The acquisition of professional qualifications is stipulated by the Vocational Education Law (1999) and the Law on Higher Education Institutions (1995); the latter regulates also the assessment in the obtained academic higher education. At the end of the acquisition of education in accredited education programmes there are state organised examinations.

Students’ assessment is carried out in 10 point scale according to such criteria:

  • The volume and quality of obtained knowledge;
  • Obtained skills;
  • Attitude towards learning;
  • Dynamics of learning achievements.

If in a regular test it is not possible to assess achievements in the 10-point scale, teachers may use “pass” or “fail”.

10-point grading scheme for assessment

Achievement level  Grade   Meaning  Approx. ECTS grade
  very high  10  izcili (with distintion)  A
 9  teicami (excellent)  A
  high  8  ļoti labi (very good)  B
 7  labi (good)  C
   medium  6  gandrīz labi (almost good)  D
 5  viduvēji (satisfactory)  E
 4  gandrīz viduvēji (almost satisfactory)        E/FX
 low  3-1  negatīvs vērtējums (unsatisfactory)  Fail

The Cabinet of Ministers regulations concerning students' assessment:

<script type=\"text/javascript\"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([\'_setAccount\', \'UA-28343580-1\']); _gaq.push([\'_trackPageview\']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(\'script\'); ga.type = \'text/javascript\'; ga.async = true; ga.src = (\'https:\' == document.location.protocol ? \'https://ssl\' : \'http://www\') + \'\'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(\'script\')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })(); </script>